calendarArtboard 1logintranslate-01search-responsiveclosearrow-righttwitter
School Logo

Clare Mount SpecialistSports College

Role Models and Catalysts for Change

Year 10 Schemes


Year 10:


Students in Year 10 follow the Pearson Edexcel GCSE (9-1) in Combined Science. This enables students to achieve 2 Science GCSE's. This GCSE course is assessed by written exams consisting of 6 (2 Biology, 2 Chemistry & 2 Physics) papers, taken at the end of Year 11 and results in a Dual Award of 2 GCSEs in Combined Sciences.


To see details of the specification click here


All students have 3 Science lessons per week. Those students who have taken the extra Science option have an additional 2 lessons per week. In Sept. 2022, we are looking at offering the single Sciences: Biology GCSE, Chemistry GCSE and Physics GCSE to those choosing additional Science as their option. This would result in 3 separate GCSEs.


The students are taught in groups that staff feel are most appropriate, taking into consideration their needs and strengths. 


Students' progress is monitored throughout the year and all students will sit an end of year assessment. If, after this, staff feel that a more vocational Science course would be appropriate for some students in Year 11 this will be discussed with both the parents/carers and student. A Horticulture course focussing on vocational and life skill development is available and the school will provide certification recognising the skills developed by your child.


To keep you informed and enable you to discuss the topics being taught, staff will put a note in your child's diary to say which topic they are working on and will update you when the class start a new topic. If you require any further information on what your child is learning please contact your child's Science teachers.